2017 Alberta Seed Growers AGM Agenda

2017 Alberta Seed Growers AGM Agenda

88th Annual General Meeting Agenda

Westin Edmonton

Welcome to:

Alberta Seed Growers, British Columbia Branch of Canadian Seed Growers’ Association, and seed industry participants



     Devonian Room

     2:00 p.m.–6:00 p.m. Registration


     Devonian Room

     3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Champions for Alberta’s Agriculture Industry

               Alberta Seed Growers board presentation on the future direction and activities of the ASG

               Spencer Graling – 2016 Senior Champion of the Canadian Young Speakers for Agriculture


     North Foyer

     6:00 p.m. – 6:45 p.m. Reception, Registration & Exhibits Open


     Manitoba/Saskatchewan Room

     6:45 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. Banquet International Year of Pulses in Review: Allison Ammeter

     Keynote Address: Graham Sherman



     Manitoba/Saskatchewan Room

     7:00 a.m. – 7:45 a.m. Buffet Breakfast


     7:30 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. Registration & Exhibits Open


Concurrent Alberta /British Columbia AGM Business Meetings

     8:00 a.m – 9:00 a.m. Alberta Seed Growers: Business Meeting

               Call to Order

               Approval of Agenda

               Welcome Address: Honourable Oneil Carlier, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry

               President’s Address: Glenn Logan

               Disposition of Annual Minutes

               Appointment of Nominations Committee: Don Sendziak

               Appointment of Resolutions Committee: Ward Oatway

               Auditor’s Report

               Appointment of Auditor


               Disposition of Resolutions


     Director’s Room

     8:00 – 10:00 a.m. British Columbia Branch CSGA Annual General Meeting


     Manitoba/Saskatchewan Room

     9:00 a.m.–9:30 a.m. Alberta Seed Guide and seed.ab.ca Report

     Shawn Brook, Issues Ink


     9:30 a.m.–10:10 a.m. Plant the Seed to Farm Safety

     Donna Trottier, Alberta Wheat Commission


     10:10 a.m.–10:30 a.m. Refreshment Break & Exhibits Open

     10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. CSGA Report

               President remarks – Kevin Runnalls, CSGA

               National Committee Updates – Richard Stamp & Ron Markert, ASG-National Directors

               Vision for the Future – Shawn Brook, Issues Ink


     12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. Lunch


     1:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Breeding and Commercialization Possibilities of Pulses from CDC

     Dr. Kofi Agblor


     1:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Alberta Seed Quality

     Crystal Dentman, President CSAAC, BioVision Seed Labs


     2:00 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. Canadian Seed Institute Update

     Danielle Fletcher, CSI Western Canada Representative


     2:15 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Your real cost of seed production

     Richard Stamp, ASG – National Director


     3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Managing Wheat on a Cultivar Basis

     Sheri Strydhorst


     3:30 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. Break & Exhibits Open


     3:45 p.m. – 5:15 p.m. Alberta Seed Growers – Members-Only Session:

               Call for Nominations

               Election of Directors

               Open Forum



               (ASG Board Meeting)



NOTE: Agenda subject to changes prior to event.

Download pdf: 2017 ASG AGM Agenda