Alberta Seed Growers board elects new executive team

Alberta Seed Growers board elects new executive team

(Lacombe, Alberta) Feb. 13, 2017 – The Alberta Seed Growers (ASG) board of directors has elected Ward Oatway as president and Jason Welsh as vice-president following their annual general meeting on Jan. 30, 2017 in Edmonton, AB.

“I am grateful for this opportunity to represent our province’s seed growers,” said Oatway, who previously served as ASG vice-president for the past year. “As president, I will continue to uphold the values of our great organization and work on our issues of priority on a provincial and national level.”

A seed grower since 1984, Oatway farms with his wife, Lori, and daughters, Ezri and Brie, along with his parents, Grant and Lois, on the family farm south of Clive, Alberta. Together they farm approximately 1,300 acres of seed barley, wheat, peas and commercial canola. They condition the bulk of the seed on-farm, while also utilizing the local Clive Seed Cleaning Co-op.

“I am so honoured to be elected as vice-president,” added Welsh, who was elected to the ASG board in 2015. “I’ve learned so much over the past two years, and I cannot wait to apply that knowledge as we move towards an even brighter future.”

Welsh has been a seed grower for seven-plus years in Milk River, where his family operates Sleepy Hollow Seeds and grows pedigreed wheat, barley, peas and grass seed. He is a graduate of the University of Alberta, where he did a double major in crop science and agricultural business.

Oatway and Welsh will serve two-year terms in their executive positions. As outgoing president, Glenn Logan will remain on the executive as past-president for the next two years.

About the Alberta Seed Growers

The ASG is one of seven branches of the Canadian Seed Growers’ Association. Each branch has its own board that works at a provincial level but also has representation at the national level to communicate the sentiments of the provincial membership.

For more information, contact:

Kelly Chambers
Executive Director
c: 403-325-0081
e: [email protected]